Tuesday, February 06, 2018

Introducing Marabel and the Book of Fate by Tracy Barrett

I grew up reading charming fantasy books, so I still have a special place in my heart for them. Today marks the debut of a book that is sure to become a favorite of every tween who reads it.




Blurb:


Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother--and their kingdom--in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons.

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants--and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

Buy Links:



Bio:


Tracy Barrett has written more than twenty books for children and young adults. She’s much too interested in too many things to stick to one genre, and has published nonfiction as well as historical fiction, mysteries, fantasy, time travel, myth and fairy-tale retellings, and contemporary realistic novels. She knows more about ancient Greece and Rome and the European Middle Ages than anyone really needs to know, can read lots of dead languages, and used to jump out of airplanes.

Tracy grew up near New York City, and went to college in New England and graduate school in California. She majored in Classics and earned a Ph.D. in Medieval Italian. She was awarded a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to study medieval women writers and won the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Work-in-Progress Grant in 2005. She taught Italian and other subjects at Vanderbilt University for almost thirty years. She lives in Tennessee with her 6’7” husband (also a former skydiver), a rescue cat, and two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels.


Author Links:

13 comments:

  1. Congratulations, Tracy! I grew up reading fantasy as well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Congrats to Tracy. This sounds like a good book. I'm so tempted :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. Congrats to Tracy. I love fantasy, and this sounds like a good one.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I love the idea of a smug unicorn.

    ReplyDelete
  5. Congrats Tracy!! Sounds excellent!

    ReplyDelete
  6. Congratulations Tracy on what sounds like a fun book. I always adore stories with castles adn fantasy. Hugs...RO

    ReplyDelete
  7. Thank you for a lovely review, Stephanie!

    ReplyDelete