Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Introducing The Art of the Swap by Kristine Asselin and Jen Malone

I'm a sucker for a good mystery, especially one involving tween girls who get to swap time periods! This book has both, which is what makes me so excited to read it!




Blurb:


Freaky Friday meets Downton Abbey in this middle-grade mystery that features a modern-day twelve-year-old switching bodies with a Gilded Age heiress in order to solve a famous art heist.

Hannah Jordan lives in a museum…well, sort of. She is the daughter of the caretaker for mansion-turned-museum The Elms in Newport, Rhode Island. Hannah’s captivated by stories of The Elms’s original occupants, especially Maggie Dunlap, the tween heiress subject of a painting that went missing during a legendary art heist in 1905.

But when a mysterious mirror allows Hannah and Maggie to switch places in time, suddenly Hannah is racing to stop the heist from happening, while Maggie gets an introduction to iPhones, soccer (which girls can play!), and freedoms like exploring without supervision. Not to mention the best invention of all: sweatpants (so long, corsets!).

As the hours tick off to the art heist, something’s not adding up. Can the girls work together against time—and across it—to set things right? Or will their temporary swap become a permanent trade?

Buy Links:



Bio:


Kristine Asselin is the author of several works of children’s nonfiction as well as the YA novel Any Way You Slice It. She loves being a Girl Scout leader and volunteering with the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators. She is a sucker for a good love song (preferably from the 80s), and can’t resist an invitation for Chinese food or ice cream (but not at the same time). She lives in Central Massachusetts with her teen daughter and husband, and spends part of everyday looking for a TARDIS to steal or borrow. You can find Kris online at KristineAsselin.com.


Author Links:




Jen Malone is a former Hollywood publicist who once spent a year traveling the world solo, met her husband on the highway (literally), and went into labor with her identical twins while on a rock star’s tour bus. These days she saves the drama for her books. Jen is also the author of the middle grade novels At Your Service and The Art of the Swap, coauthor of the You’re Invited series, and wrote the YA novels Map to the Stars and Wanderlost. You can visit her online at JenMaloneWrites.com.


Author Links:

Friday, February 09, 2018

Introducing Feud by Phyllis Bourne

There are some people who just make this world a better place. Phyllis Bourne is one of those people. I recommend surrounding yourself with positive, happy, giving people like her! And today she has a new book out that has the best cover I've seen in a while!



Blurb:


An inherited house that comes complete with a tall, dark and sexy neighbor – it’s a romance no-brainer, right?

Until Alexandra Bridges learns of the hundred-year old family feud that makes the hunk next door her sworn enemy for life.

The man has a body that makes Alex want to make love, not war. But there is an additional quarter million-dollar inheritance at stake. She’ll have to run him out of the neighborhood to become the legendary feud’s sole survivor – if he doesn’t run her out first. 

Buy Links:



Bio:

A former newspaper crime reporter, Phyllis Bourne writes to feed a growing lipstick addiction. A nominee for Romance Writer's of America's 2016 RITA® award and a two-time Golden Heart finalist, she has also been nominated for an RT BOOKReviews Reviewer's Choice Award and won Georgia Romance Writer's prestigious Maggie Award of Excellence.

When she's not at the computer, Phyllis can be found at a cosmetics counter spending the grocery money. She lives in Nashville with an understanding husband, who in one kiss can discern the difference between a department store and drug store lip gloss. 

Check her out at www.phyllisbourne.com and www.facebook.com/phyllisbournebooks.

Author Links:

Tuesday, February 06, 2018

Introducing Marabel and the Book of Fate by Tracy Barrett

I grew up reading charming fantasy books, so I still have a special place in my heart for them. Today marks the debut of a book that is sure to become a favorite of every tween who reads it.




Blurb:


Free-spirited Marabel must defy expectations to rescue her brother--and their kingdom--in this charming, action-packed, and magical story perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Dealing with Dragons.

In Magikos, life is dictated by the Book of Fate's ancient predictions, including the birth of a royal Chosen One who will save the realm. Princess Marabel has grown up in the shadow of her twin brother, Marco, who everyone assumes is the true Chosen One. While Marco is adored and given every opportunity, Marabel is overlooked and has to practice her sword fighting in secret.

But on the night of their thirteenth birthday, Marco is kidnapped by an evil queen, and Marabel runs to his rescue. Outside the castle walls for the first time, accompanied by her best friend and a very smug unicorn, Marabel embarks on a daring mission that brings her face-to-face with fairies, trolls, giants--and the possibility that all is not as it seems in Magikos.

Buy Links:



Bio:


Tracy Barrett has written more than twenty books for children and young adults. She’s much too interested in too many things to stick to one genre, and has published nonfiction as well as historical fiction, mysteries, fantasy, time travel, myth and fairy-tale retellings, and contemporary realistic novels. She knows more about ancient Greece and Rome and the European Middle Ages than anyone really needs to know, can read lots of dead languages, and used to jump out of airplanes.

Tracy grew up near New York City, and went to college in New England and graduate school in California. She majored in Classics and earned a Ph.D. in Medieval Italian. She was awarded a grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities to study medieval women writers and won the Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators Work-in-Progress Grant in 2005. She taught Italian and other subjects at Vanderbilt University for almost thirty years. She lives in Tennessee with her 6’7” husband (also a former skydiver), a rescue cat, and two Cavalier King Charles Spaniels.


Author Links:

Tuesday, January 16, 2018

Introducing Sing Like Nobody’s Listening by Allison Gutknecht

Sorry I've been quiet lately--I've been busy writing, writing, writing! Today I come out of hiding to celebrate a fun new book release. I can't wait to dive into this one!



Blurb:


In the tradition of Pitch Perfect, two best friends battle it out for a capella group supremacy in this hilarious M!X novel.

Wylie Tennyson and Jada Emmett have been best friends forever. They have done everything together for so long that when Jada decides to try out for their middle school’s spring musical production, it was only natural for Wylie to audition as well. After all, how fun would it be to be in the chorus together? The only problem is that Jada has her sights set on much more than the chorus—she’s going after one of the lead parts, and wants Wylie to step aside to give her a better shot.

Taking a cue from her new favorite television show, Non-Instrumental, Wylie decides to start her middle school’s very first a cappella group. She wants to show Jada that it’s much better to be part of a team’s success than it is to stand under the spotlight alone. This is a great idea, in theory, until Wylie has trouble actually recruiting anyone to join her group. And it doesn’t help when Jada decides to form her own…


Can Jada and Wylie find a way to fix things before their battle for vocal supremacy destroys their forever friendship for good?

Buy Links:



Bio:


Allison Gutknecht is the author of the Mandy Berr series, beginning with Don't Wear Polka-Dot Underwear with White Pants (and Other Lessons I've Learned). After graduating from the University of Pennsylvania, she earned her master's degree in Children's Media and Literature from NYU. Allison grew up in Voorhees, NJ, and now lives in New York City with her rambunctious toy poodle, Gypsy, and her literate cat, Folly.


Author Links: